Power Transformers Subcommittee

Power Transformers Subcommittee Scope

  • Study and review engineering aspects of liquid filled power transformers, including transmission transformers, primary unit substation transformers, generator step-up transformers, phase angle regulating transformers, and related products.
  • Develop and maintain related standards, recommended practices and guides for such products.
  • Coordinate with other technical committees, groups, societies and associations as required.

Chair:

Bill Griesacker

Doble Engineering Company

85 Walnut Street

Watertown, MA  02472  U.S.A

Phone: 617-393-3074

E-Mail: bgriesacker@doble.com

Vice-Chair:

Open

Secretary:

Kipp J. Yule

Bechtel Power Corp

5275 Westview Drive

Frederick, MD 21703-8306, USA

Phone: (301) 228-6624

Email: kjyule@bechtel.com

Agenda/Topics for Next Meeting

Spring 2017 Agenda   22Mar2017

Previous Meeting Discussions/Topics

 

Working Groups

Project or Standard Number

Title

Status

WG or
TF

Chair (C), Vice-Chair (VC), Secretary (S)

% Complete

Available Downloads – Contact the Chair for Password and Access

Document or Current Draft

References or
WG/TF Webpage

C57.12.10

Revision of C57.12.10, 230kV and Below Safety Requirement

Active

Publ.: Corr. 2012

Due: 9/30/2020

PAR Exp.: 12/31/2019

 .

Gary Hoffman - Chair

Phone: (973) 474-2171

grhoffman@advpowertech.com

50%

C57.12.10 D2 21Sep2016

C57-12-10 D2 RedLine 21Sep2016

Straw Ballot Comment Review 3Oct2016

C57.12.10-2010 Cor2-2013 10Apr2015 Special password required

C57.12.10-2010 Cor1-2012 10Apr2015 Special password required

Fall 2016 Agenda 10Oct2016

Spring 2016 Unapproved Minutes 27Apr2016

Stds Process Presentation 02Jun2015

C57.17

Revision of Requirements for Arc Furnace Transformers

Inactive

Publ.: Orig IEEE Std. 17, 1965

Due: 12/31/2022

WG

Robert Ganser - Chair

Phone: (330) 492-8433

rganser@ieee.org

-

.

.

C57.93

Revision of IEEE Guide for Installation and Maintenance of Liquid-Immersed Power Transformers

Active

Publ.: 1995

Due: 12/31/2018

PAR Exp.: 12/31/2016

WG

Mike Lau - Chair

Phone: (604) 224-9343

mike.lau@wicor.com

Scott Reed - Secretary

Phone: (304) 280-2864

sreed@mvadiagnostics.com

95%

C57.93 D1.3 8Mar2016

C57.93 Web Page

PC57.116

Revision of Guide for Transformers Directly Connected to Generators

Inactive

Approved 2014

Due: 12/31/2024

.

Garry Hoffman - Chair

Phone: (973) 474-2171

grhoffman@advpowertech.com

-

.

.

PC57.117

IEEE Guide for Reporting Failure Data for Power Transformers and Shunt Reactors on Electric Utility Power Systems

Inactive

Withdrawn

.

Wallace Binder - Chair

Phone: (724) 654-3839

wbbinder@ieee.org

-

.

.

PC57.125

Revision of Guide for Failure Investigation, Documentation, Analysis and Reporting for Power Transformers and Shunt Reactors

Inactive

Approved 2015

Due: 12/31/2025

.

Wallace Binder - Chair

Phone: (724) 654-3839

wbbinder@ieee.org

Tom Melle - Vice Chair

Phone: (919) 239-5943

trmelle@ncsu.edu

John Roach - Secretary

 Phone: (860) 722-5125

John_Roach@hsb.com

-

.

.

P60214-1-57-131

Tap-Changers - Part 1: Performance requirements and test methods

Active

C57.131 Publ.: 2012

Due: 12/31/2022

PAR Exp.: 12/31/2020

WG

Craig A. Colopy - Chair

Phone: (262) 896-2342

CraigAColopy@Eaton.com

Axel Kraemer – Vice-Chair

Phone: +49 941 4090-4050

A.Kraemer@reinhausen.com

Adam Sewell - Secretary

Phone:  330-872-5707

adamsewell@qualityswitch.com

10%

IEC 60214-1 ED2

IEEE C57.131-2012

Special password Reqrd.for both

PAR 8Jan2017

Spring 2016 Agenda 23Mar2017

Fall 2016 Minutes 8Jan2017

Spring 2016 Minutes 10Oct2016

Supporting Documents (zip) file) Special password Reqrd - 10Oct2016

P60214-2

Tap-Changers - Part 2: Application guide

Active

PAR Exp.: 12/31/2018

WG

Craig A. Colopy - Chair

Phone: (262) 896-2342

CraigAColopy@Eaton.com

Axel Kraemer – Vice-Chair

Phone: +49 941 4090-4050

A.Kraemer@reinhausen.com

Adam Sewell - Secretary

Phone:  330-872-5707

adamsewell@qualityswitch.com

10%

7WD P60214-2 8Jan2017

P60214-2 Web Page

C57.135

Revision of Guide for the Application, Specification and Testing of Phase-Shifting Transformers

Inactive

Publ.: 2001

IEEE/IEC Dual Logo 2005, IEC 62032 Ed. 1

Due: 6/16/2021

.

Jin Sim - Chair

jin.sim@ieee.org

-

.

.

PC57.140

Revision of Guide for Evaluation and Reconditioning of Liquid-Immersed Power Transformers

Active

Publ.: 2006

Due: 12/31/2018

PAR Exp.: 12/31/2017

WG

Paul Boman - Chair

Phone: (785) 256-7161

paul_boman@hsb.com

90%

Draft 7c Password Reqrd, 23Feb2017

Draft 7a

Ballot Comments on D7a  19Oct2016

C57.140 MEC Figures 12Mar2016

C57.140-2006 Special Password Rqrd.

 

Spring 2017 Agenda 28Mar2017

Fall 2016 Minutes 28Mar2017

PC57.143

Development of Guide for Application of Monitoring to Liquid-Immersed Transformers and Components

Inactive

Publ.: 2013

Due: 12/31/2023

.

Donald Chu - Chair

chud@coned.com

-

.

.

C57.148

IEEE Standard for Control Cabinets for Power Transformers

Active

Publ.: 2011

Due: 9/10/2021

PAR Exp. 12/31/2020

 .

Joe Watson - Chair

joe_watson@ieee.org

Weijun Li - Vice-Chair

wli@beld.com

Jean-Francois Collin - Secretary

jfcollin@nomossystemes.com

20%

C57.148-2011 DOC Special Password Rqrd.

C57.148-2011 PDF Special Password Rqrd.

.

PC57.150

Guide for the Transportation of Transformers and Reactors Rated 10,000kVA or Larger

Inactive

Publ.: 2012

Due: 12/31/2022

PAR Exp. 12/31/2022

WG

Greg Anderson - Chair

gwanderson@ieee.org

Ewald Schweiger - Vice-Chair

ewald.schweiger@ieee.org

Susan McNelly - Secretary

sjmcnelly@ieee.org

0%

.

.

PC57.153

Development of Guide for Paralleling Transformers

Inactive

Approved 2015

Due: 12/31/2025

WG

Tom Jauch - Chair

Phone: (813) 634-1422

jauch@ieee.org

-

.

.

PC57.156

Development of Guide for Transformer Tank Rupture Mitigation of Liquid-Immersed Power Transformers and Reactors

Active

Publ.: New Project

PAR Exp.: 12/31/2017

WG

Peter Zhao - Chair

Phone: (416) 345-5926

peter.zhao@hydroone.com

95%

PC57.156 D3  14Oct2014

Spring 2014 Minutes 05Jun2014

F11 TIB Presentation 14Nov2011

PC57.157

Development of Guide for Conducting Functional Life Tests for De-Energized Tap Changer Contacts

Inactive

Approved 2015

Due: 12/31/2025

WG

Phil Hopkinson - Chair

Phone:  (704) 846-3290

phopkinson@ieee.org

Adam Sewel - Secretary

Phone:  330-872-5707

adamsewell@qualityswitch.com

-

.

.

IEEE 638

Revision of IEEE Standard for Qualification of Class 1E Transformers for Nuclear power Generating Stations

Inactive

Approved 2013

Due: 12/31/2023

WG

Craig Swinderman - Chair

Phone: (901) 566-3801

craig.swinderman@meppi.com

-

.

.

IEEE/IEC 60076-57-12

Development of Standard Requirements for Phase Shifting Transformers

Active

Publ.: New Project

PAR Exp.: 12/31/2016

WG

Raj Ahuja - Chair

Phone: (408) 209-5513

rajahuja2@icloud.com

95%

.

Special PW required for WG access only for the following documents:

IEC 60076-1{ed3.0}b  29Nov2012

IEC 60076-3{ed2.0}b  29Nov2012

IEEE C57.12.00-2010  29Nov2012

IEEE C57.12.90-2010  29Nov2012

IEEE C57.135-2011  29Nov2012

 

This page is maintained by: webmaster

Last update: 08-Apr-2017