TRANSFORMERS COMMITTEE IEEE

Subcommittees

Performance Characteristics Subcommittee

SCOPE

  • Study and review the treatment of loss, impedance, exciting current, inrush current and other performance characteristics and their methods of application, measurement or test for liquid filled transformers and reactors;
  • Develop and maintain related standards, recommended practices and guides for such criteria;
  • Coordinate with other technical committees, groups, societies and associations as required.
CHAIR VICE CHAIR
SECRETARY
Craig Stiegemeier
ABB Inc. TRES North America
Technology Director
St. Louis, MO, U.S.A.
Phone: +1 314 679 4568
email: craig.stiegemeier@ieee.org
Sanjib K. Som
Pennsylvania Transformer
Pittsburgh, PA, U.S.A.
Phone: +1 540 204 7670
email: ssom@patransformer.com
Rogerio Verdolin
Verdolin Solutions Inc.
Phone: +1 403 850 4304
email: roger.verdolin@shaw.ca

SC AGENDA/TOPICS FOR NEXT MEETING

Spring 2019 PCS Agenda 18Mar2019
For previous meeting minutes, see Transformers Committee Meetings

WORKING GROUPS/TASK FORCES

Standard Title Officers Status Drafts Documents
P60076-16
WG
Standard Requirements for Wind Turbine Generator Transformers Chair: Philip Hopkinson
Phone: (704) 846-3290
phopkinson@hvolt.com
Secretary: Donald E. Ayers
Phone: +1 704-243-3222
donald.ayers@ieee.org
Active
New Project 95%
PAR Exp.: 12/31/2016
. P60076-16 Web Page
C57.12.00 Cont. Rev.
TF
IEEE Standard General Requirements for Liquid-Immersed Distribution, Power, and Regulating Transformers Chair: Tauhid H. Ansari
Phone: +1 314-420-8597
tauhid.ansari@us.abb.com
Secretary: Enrique Betancourt
Phone:
ebetanco@ieee.org
Active . .
C57.12.90 Cont. Rev.
TF
Test Code Chair: Hakan Sahin
Phone: +1 601-559-9535
hakan.sahin@us.abb.com
Secretary: Hamid Abdelkamel
Phone: +1 314-554-4125
HAbdelkamel@ameren.com
Active . Fall 2018 Agenda 8Oct2018
Spring 2018 C57.12.90 Test Code WG Minutes 8Oct2018
C57.12.90 Section 9.5 zero seq with Modifications 14Mar2013
C57.12.90 Cont. Rev.
TF
Section 13 Sound Level Measurement Chair: Ramsis Girgis
Phone: +1 314-679-4803
ramsis.girgis@us.abb.com
Secretary: Barry Beaster
Phone: +1 636-677-3421 x392
blbeaster@ieee.org
Active . Spring 2019 Minutes 16Aprt2019
C57.18.10
WG
IEEE Standard Practices and Requirements for Semiconductor Power Rectifier Transformers Chair: Sheldon Kennedy
Phone: +1 716-896-6500
skennedy@
niagaratransformer.com
Vice-Chair: Bill Whitehead
Phone:

Secretary: David Walker
Phone: +1 520-484-5338
djwalker1260@gmail.com
Active 50%
Reaffirmed 2009
Rev Due: 12/31/2019
C57.18.10a
Rev Due: 12/31/2018
PAR Exp.: 12/31/2020
C57.18.10 D5 22FebOct2019 Fall 2018 Minutes 22Feb2019
Spring 2018 Minutes 22Feb2019
C57.21
WG
IEEE Standard Requirements, Terminology, and Test Code for Shunt Reactors Rated Over 500 kVA Chair: Sanjib Som
Phone: +1 540-204-7670
ssom@patransformer.com
Secretary: Arturo Del Rio
Phone: +1 416-298-8108 x404
Arturo.delrio@trench-group.com
Active 70%
Approved 2008
Rev Due: 12/31/2018
PAR Exp.: 12/31/2018
. PC57.21 Web Page
C57.32

 

IEEE Standard Requirements, Terminology, and Testing Procedures for Neutral Grounding Devices Chair: Sheldon Kennedy
Phone: +1 716-896-6500
skennedy@
nagaratransformer.com
Vice-Chair: Tom Melle
Phone: +1 919-239-5943
trmelle@ncsu.edu
Secretary: Fred Elliott
Phone: +1 360-418-2269
felliott@ieee.org
Inactive
Approved 2015
Rev Due: 12/31/2025
. .
PC57.32a
WG
IEEE Standard Requirements, Terminology, and Testing Procedures for Neutral Grounding Devices: Amendment Chair: Sergio Panetta
Phone: +1 905-673-1553
spanetta@ieee.org
Vice-Chair: Yann Elassad
Phone: 33 783 92 54 35
yann.elassad@
msresistances.com
Secretary: Thomas Yingling
Phone: +1 859-292-4341
tyingling@powerohm.com
Active
Approved 2015
Rev Due: 12/31/2025
PAR Exp.:
. Spring 2019 WG Agenda 22Mar2019
C57.32.10 – Entity Oversight
TF
Guide for the Selection of Neutral-Grounding Devices for HVDC Converter Transformers Chair:
Phone:
.
Active . .
C57.32.10
Entity WG
Guide for the Selection of Neutral-Grounding Devices for HVDC Converter Transformers Chair: Zhang Hua
Phone:
zhanghua0002@163.com
. . Kick-off WG Meeting, May 30-31, Chengdu, China
Agenda Coming soon
C57.105
WG
IEEE Guide for Application of Transformer
Connections in Three-Phase Distribution Systems
Chair: Rogerio Verdolin
Phone: +1 403-850-4304
roger.verdolin@shaw.ca
Vice-Chair: Ben Garcia
Phone: +1 714-895-0787
Benjamin.Garcia@sce.com
Active 50%
Reaffirmed 2008
Rev Due: 12/31/2018
PAR Exp.: 12/31/2019
C57.105 D6 19Mar2018
C57.105 D6 Redline 19Mar2018
.
C57.109
WG
IEEE Guide for Liquid-Immersed Transformers Through-Fault-Current Duration Chair: Vinay Mehrotra
Phone: +1 262-547-0121 x1353
Vinay.Mehrotra@spx.com
Vice-Chair: Hemchandra
Shertukde
Phone: +1 860-768-4847
Shertukde@hartford.edu
Secretary: Jason Varnell
Phone: +1 919-221-9793
jason.varnell@spx.com
Active 50%
Reaffirmed 2008
Rev Due: 12/31/2018
PAR Exp.: 12/31/2019
C57.109 D1.1 19Mar2017 .
C57.110
WG
IEEE Recommended Practice for Establishing Transformer Capability When Supplying Nonsinusoidal Load Currents Chair: Richard Marek
Phone: +1 804-383-2376
Richard.P.Marek@usa.dupont.com
Secretary: Samuel L. Sharpless
Phone: +1 407-257-0209
slsharpl@rimkus.com
Active 70%
Pub. 2008
Rev Due: 12/31/2018
PAR Exp.: 12/31/2018
. .
C57.120
.
IEEE Loss Evaluation Guide for Power Transformers and Reactors Chair: Rogerio Verdolin
Phone: +1 403-850-4304
roger.verdolin@shaw.ca
Vice-Chair: Rod Sauls
Phone: +1 205-257-4143
RESAULS@southernco.com
Inactive
Approved 2017
Rev Due: 12/31/2017
. .
C57.123
WG
IEEE Guide for Transformer Loss Measurement Chair: Ed TeNyenhuis
Phone: +1 519-837-4691
ed.g.tenyenhuis@ca.abb.com
Secretary: Tony Franchitti
Phone: +1 610-648-7952
anthony.franchitti@
exeloncorp.com
Active
Approved 2010
Rev Due: 12/31/2020
PC57.123D1 3Apr2018 Spring 2018 WG Minutes 3Apr2018
Spring 2018 Loss Measurement Presentation 3Apr2018
C57.133
.
Guide for Short-Circuit Testing of Distribution and Power Transformers Chair: Marcel Fortin
Phone: +1 450-922-0925
fortin.marcel@ieee.org
Inactive
Rev Due: 12/31/2019 Par Withdrawn
. .
C57.136
.
IEEE Guide for Sound Level Abatement and Determination for Liquid- Immersed Power Transformers and Shunt Reactors Rated Over 500 kVA Chair: Steve Antosz
Phone: +1 412-498-3916
santosz@comcast.net
Inactive
Reaffirmed 2005
Rev Due: 12/31/2018 Par Withdrawn
. .
C57.142
WG
A Guide To Describe The Occurrence And Mitigation Of Switching Transients Induced By Transformer-Breaker Interaction Chair: Jim McBride
Phone: +1 770-460-6626
jim@jmxservices.com
Vice-Chair: Xose Lopez-
Fernandez
xmlopez@uvigo.es
Secretary: Tom Melle
Phone: +1 919-239-5943
tom.melle.us@ieee.org
Active 10%
Approved 2010
Rev Due: 12/31/2020
PC57.142 D6 26Mar2019 Fall 2018 WG Agenda 13Oct2018
Spring 2018 WG Minutes 13Oct2018
F17 Special Terminated Lightning Impulse 2Nov2017
F17 Impact of Different Neutral Grounding Methods – Ziomek 31Oct2017
S17 Reactor Switching Transients – McBride 31Oct2017
Spring 2016 HV & EHV Transients Paper 22Mar2016
C57.149
WG
Guide for the Application and Interpretation of Frequency Response Analysis for Oil Immersed Transformers Chair: Charles Sweetser
Phone: +1 781- 672-6214
charles.sweetser@omicronusa.com
Active
Approved 2012
Rev Due: 12/31/2022
PAR Exp.: 12/31/2022
. .
C57.158
WG
Guide for the Application of Tertiary and Stabilizing Windings in Power Transformers Chair: Enrique Betancourt
Phone: 0528180302135
enrique.betancourt.ramirez@indsys.ge.c
Secretary: Brian Penny
Phone: +1 262-832-8709
XXX
Active 60%
New Project
PAR Exp.: 12/31/2018
PC57.158 Draft 7 29Mar2017 .
C57.159
.
Guide for Application in Distributed Photovoltaic(DPV) Transformers in Power Generation Systems Chair: Hemchandra M. Shertukde
Phone: +1 860-768-4847
Shertukde@hartford.edu
Vice-Chair: Mathieu Sauzay
Phone: 33478778164
Mathieu.Sauzay@jst-transformers.com
Secretary: Aleksandr Levin
Phone: +1 802-751-3352
aleksandr.levin@wicor.com
Inactive
Approved 2016
Rev Due: 12/31/2016
. .
C57.164
WG
Guide for theoretical evaluation of the ability to withstand effects of short circuit on Fluid-Filled Power Transformers, Regulators, and Reactors Chair: Sanjay Patel
Phone:
s.patel@smitusa.com
Vice-Chair: Raj Ahuja
Phone: +1 408-209-5513
rajahuja2@icloud.com
Secretary: Joe Watson
Phone: +1 561-371-9138
joe_watson@ieee.org
Active 10%
New Project
PAR Exp.: 12/31/2020
PC57.164 D2 with edits 5Mar2018
PC57.164 D2 clean 5Mar2018
PAR Detail 12Sep2017
Fall 2017 Presentation 1 28Nov2017
Fall 2017 Presentation 2 28Nov2017
TR Testing – KEMA Experience 12Sep2017
TF
Core Gassing and Grounding Chair: David Buckmaster
Phone: +1 980-321-8381
david.buckmaster@shawgrp.com
Secretary: Donald E. Ayers
Phone: +1 704-243-3222
donald.ayers@ieee.org
Active . .
TF
Short Circuit Design Criteria Chair: David Buckmaster
Phone: +1 980-321-8381
david.buckmaster@shawgrp.com
Active . .
TF Insulating Liquid for Factory Testing Chair: Ed teNyenhuis
Phone: +1 980-321-8381
ed.g.tenyenhuis@ca.abb.com
Active . Spring 2018 TF Unapproved Minutes 29Mar2018
Spring 2018 Ester Liquid 29Mar2018
TF
LTC Diagnostics Guide Chair: Marcos Ferreira
Phone: +1 360-567-4314
marcos.ferreira@advisian.com
Vice-Chair: Raka Levi
Phone: +1 617-818-8755
rakal@amforum.org
Secretary: Tauhid Ansari
Phone: +1 314-679-4543
tauhid.ansari@us.abb.com
Active . Spring 2018 DRM 4Jun2018
Spring 2018 DRM-Werelius 4Jun2018
Spring 2018 DRM- Practical Experiences – Plath 4Jun2018