Performance Characteristics Subcommittee

Performance Characteristics Subcommittee Scope

  • Study and review the treatment of loss, impedance, exciting current, inrush current and other performance characteristics and their methods of application, measurement or test for liquid filled transformers and reactors.

  • Develop and maintain related standards, recommended practices and guides for such criteria.
  • Coordinate with other technical committees, groups, societies and associations as required.

Chair:

Craig Stiegemeier

Technology Director

ABB Inc. TRES North America

St. Louis, MO USA 

Phone: +1 (314) 679-4568

E-Mail: craig.stiegemeier@ieee.org

Vice Chair:

Sanjib K. Som

Pennsylvania Transformer

Pittsburgh, PA  USA

Phone: (540) 204-7670

E-Mail: ssom@patransformer.com

Secretary:

Rogerio Verdolin

Verdolin Solutions Inc.

Phone: (403) 850-4304

E-Mail: roger.verdolin@shaw.ca

SC Agenda/Topics for Next Meeting

Spring 2018 PCS Agenda  16Mar2018

Previous SC Meeting Discussions/Topics

 

Working Groups/Task Forces

Project or Standard Number

Title

Status

WG or
TF

Chair / Vice Chair

% Complete

Documents – Contact the Chair for Password and Access

Current Draft

WG/TF Webpage / Documents

P60076-16

Standard Requirements for Wind Turbine Generator Transformers

Active

New Guide

PAR Exp.: 12/31/16

WG

Philip Hopkinson - Chair

Phone: (704) 846-3290

phopkinson@hvolt.com

Donald E. Ayers - Secretary

Phone: (704) 243-3222

donald.ayers@ieee.org

95%

.

P60076-16 Web Page

TF to C57.12.00 Continuous Revision WG

IEEE Standard General Requirements for Liquid-Immersed Distribution, Power, and Regulating Transformers

Active

TF

Tauhid H. Ansari - Chair

314- 420-8597

tauhid.ansari@us.abb.com

Enrique Betancourt - Secretary

ebetanco@ieee.org

-

.

TF C57.12.00 Web Page

TF to C57.12.90 Continuous Revision WG

Test Code

Active

TF

Hakan Sahin  - Chair

Phone: (601) 559-9535

hakan.sahin@us.abb.com

Hamid Abdelkamel - Secretary

Phone: (314) 554-4125

HAbdelkamel@ameren.com

-

.

Spring 2018 Agenda 19Mar2018

Fall 2017 C57.12.90 Test Code WG Minutes  19Mar2018

C57.12.90 Section 9.5 zero seq with Modifications  14Mar2013

TF to C57.12.90 Continuous Revision WG

Section 13 - Sound Level Measurement

Active

TF

Ramsis Girgis  - Chair

Phone: (314) 679-4803

ramsis.girgis@us.abb.com

Barry Beaster - Secretary

Phone: (636) 677-3421 x392

blbeaster@ieee.org

-

.

.

C57.18.10 IEEE Standard Practices and Requirements for Semiconductor Power Rectifier Transformers

Active

Reaffirmed 2009

Rev. Due: 1/30/2019

C57.18.10a

Rev. Due: 1/30/2018

Par Exp.: 12/31/20

.

Sheldon Kennedy - Chair

Phone: (716) 896-6500

skennedy@niagaratransformer.com

Bill Whitehead - Vice-Chair

David Walker - Secretary

Phone: (520)484-5338

djwalker1260@gmail.com

50% C57.18.10 D3 Consolidated 22Mar2018

Spring 2018 Agenda  23Mar2018

Fall 2017 Unapproved Minutes  22Mar2018

PC57.21

IEEE Standard Requirements, Terminology, and Test Code for Shunt Reactors Rated Over 500 kVA

Active

Approved 2008

Rev. Due: 12/31/2018

Par Exp.: 12/31/18

WG

Sanjib Som- Chair

Phone: (540) 204-7670

ssom@patransformer.com

Arturo Del Rio - Secretary

Phone: (416) 298-8108 x404

Arturo.delrio@trench-group.com

70%

.

PC57.21 Web Page

PC57.32

IEEE Standard Requirements, Terminology, and Testing Procedures for Neutral Grounding Devices

Inactive

Approved 2015

Rev. Due: 12/31/2025

WG

Sheldon Kennedy - Chair

Phone: (716) 896-6500

skennedy@niagaratransformer.com

Tom Melle - Vice Chair

Phone: (919) 239-5943

trmelle@ncsu.edu

Fred Elliott - Secretary

Phone: (360) 418-2269

felliott@ieee.org

-

. .

PC57.32a

IEEE Standard Requirements, Terminology, and Testing Procedures for Neutral Grounding Devices: Amendment

Active

Approved 2015

Rev. Due: 12/31/2025

Par Exp:

WG

Sergio Panetta - Chair

Phone: (905) 673-1553

spanetta@ieee.org

Yann Elassad - Vice Chair

Phone: 33 783 92 54 35 (France)

yann.elassad@msresistances.com

Thomas Yingling - Secretary

Phone: (859) 292-4341

tyingling@powerohm.com

-

. .

PC57.32

IEEE Standard Requirements, Terminology, and Testing Procedures for Neutral Grounding Devices

Inactive

Approved 2015

Rev. Due: 12/31/2025

WG

Sheldon Kennedy - Chair

Phone: (716) 896-6500

skennedy@niagaratransformer.com

Tom Melle - Vice Chair

Phone: (919) 239-5943

trmelle@ncsu.edu

Fred Elliott - Secretary

Phone: (360) 418-2269

felliott@ieee.org

-

. .

C57.105

IEEE Guide for Application of Transformer
Connections in Three-Phase Distribution Systems

Active

Reaffirmed 2008

Rev Due: 12/31/2018

PAR Exp. 12/31/2019

.

Rogerio Verdolin - Chair

Phone: (403) 850-4304

roger.verdolin@shaw.ca

Ben Garcia - Vice-Chair

Phone: (714) 895-0787

Benjamin.Garcia@sce.com

50%

C57.105 D6 19Mar2018

C57.105 D6 Redline 19Mar2018

.

C57.109

IEEE Guide for Liquid-Immersed Transformers Through-Fault-Current Duration

Active

Reaffirmed 2008

Rev Due: 12/31/2018

PAR Exp. 12/31/2019

.

Vinay Mehrotra- Chair

Phone: (262) 547-0121 x1353

Vinay.Mehrotra@spx.com

Hemchandra Shertukde- Vice-Chair

Phone: (860) 768-4847

Shertukde@hartford.edu

Jason Varnell - Secretary

Phone: (919) 221-9793

jason.varnell@spx.com

50%

C57.109 D1.1 19Mar2017

.

C57.110

IEEE Recommended Practice for Establishing Transformer Capability When Supplying Nonsinusoidal Load Currents

Active

Pub. 2008

Rev Due: 12/31/2018

PAR Exp. 12/31/2018

.

Richard Marek - Chair

Phone: (804) 383-2376

Richard.P.Marek@usa.dupont.com

Samuel L. Sharpless - Secretary

Phone: (407)-257-0209

slsharpl@rimkus.com

70%

.

C57110 Webpage

C57.120

IEEE Loss Evaluation Guide for Power Transformers and Reactors

Inactive

Approved 2017

Rev Due: 12/31/2027

.

Rogerio Verdolin - Chair

Phone: (403) 850-4304

roger.verdolin@shaw.ca

Rod Sauls - Vice-Chair

Phone: (205) 257-4143

RESAULS@southernco.com

-

.

.

C57.123

IEEE Guide for Transformer Loss Measurement

Active

Approved 2010

Rev. Due: 6/17/2020

.

Ed TeNyenhuis - Chair

Phone: (519) 837-4691

ed.g.tenyenhuis@ca.abb.com

Tony Frnachitti - Secretary

Phone: (610) 648-7952

anthony.franchitti@exeloncorp.com

-

PC57.123D1  3Apr2018

Spring 2018 WG Minutes 3Apr2018

Spring 2018 Loss Measurement Presentation 3Apr2018

PC57.133

Guide for Short-Circuit Testing of Distribution and Power Transformers

Inactive

Rev. Due: 12/31/2019

PAR Withdrawn

.

Marcel Fortin - Chair

Phone: 450-922-0925

fortin.marcel@ieee.org

-

.

.

C57.136

IEEE Guide for Sound Level Abatement and Determination for Liquid- Immersed Power Transformers and Shunt Reactors Rated Over 500 kVA

Inactive

Reaffirmed 2005

Rev. Due: 12/31/2018

PAR Withdrawn

WG

Steve Antosz - Chair

Phone: (412) 498-3916

santosz@comcast.net

-

.

.

C57.142       

A Guide To Describe The Occurrence And Mitigation Of Switching Transients Induced By Transformer-Breaker Interaction

Active

Approved 2010

Rev. Due: 12/8/2020

.

Jim McBride - Chair

Phone: (770)460-6626

jim@jmxservices.com

Xose Lopez-Fernandez - Vice-Chair

xmlopez@uvigo.es

Tom Melle - Secretary

Phone: (919)239-5943

tom.melle.us@ieee.org

10%

PC57.142 D4   26Mar2018

Fall 2017 WG Minutes 2Nov2017

F17 Special Terminated Lightning Impulse 2Nov2017

F17 Impact of Different Neutral Grounding Methods - Ziomek 31Oct2017

 

Spring 2017 WG Minutes 31Oct2017

S17 Reactor Switching Transients - McBride 31Oct2017

Spring 2016 HV & EHV Transients Paper 22Mar2016

Spring 2016 TF Agenda 22Mar2016

Fall 2015 TF Minutes - Memphis 22Mar2016

C57.149

Guide for the Application and Interpretation of Frequency Response Analysis for Oil Immersed Transformers

Inactive

Approved 2012

Rev. Due: 12/31/2022

.

Charles Sweetser - Chair

Phone: (781) 672-6214

charles.sweetser@omicronusa.com

- . .

PC57.158

Guide for the Application of Tertiary and Stabilizing Windings in Power Transformers

Active

New Guide

PAR Exp.: 12/31/2018

WG

Enrique Betancourt - Chair

Phone: (52-80)-30-2135

enrique.betancourt.ramirez@indsys.ge.c

60%

PC57.158 Draft 7   29Mar2017

WG C57.158 Web Page

PC57.159

Guide for Application in Distributed Photovoltaic(DPV) Transformers in Power Generation Systems

Inactive

Approved 2016

Rev. Due: 12/31/26

WG

Hemchandra M. Shertukde - Chair

Phone: (860) 768-4847

Shertukde@hartford.edu

Mathieu Sauzay - Vice Chair

Phone: 33478778164

Mathieu.Sauzay@jst-transformers.com

Aleksandr Levin- Secretary

Phone: (802) 751-3352

aleksandr.levin@wicor.com

 

.

.

PC57.164

Guide for theoretical evaluation of the ability to withstand effects of short circuit on Fluid-Filled Power Transformers, Regulators, and Reactors

Active

New Guide

PAR Exp.: 12/31/2020

WG

Sanjay Patel  - Chair

Phone:

s.patel@smitusa.com

Raj Ahuja - Vice Chair

Phone: (408) 209-5513

rajahuja2@icloud.com

Joe Watson - Chair

Phone: (561) 371-9138

joe_watson@ieee.org

10%

PC57.164 D2 with edits  5Mar2018

PC57.164 D2 clean 5Mar2018

PAR Detail 12Sep2017

Fall 2017  Presentation 1  28Nov2017

Fall 2017 Presentation 2  28Nov2017

TR Testing - KEMA Experience  12Sep2017

TF

Core Gassing and Grounding

Active

 

TF

David Buckmaster - Chair

Phone: 980-321-8381

david.buckmaster@shawgrp.com

Donald E. Ayers - Secretary

Phone: (704) 243-3222

donald.ayers@ieee.org

-

.

.

TF

Short Circuit Design Criteria

Active

 

TF

David Buckmaster - Chair

Phone: 980-321-8381

david.buckmaster@shawgrp.com

-

. .

TF

TF on Insulating Liquid for Factory Testing

Active

 

TF

Ed teNyenhuis - Chair

Phone: 980-321-8381

ed.g.tenyenhuis@ca.abb.com

-

. Spring 2018 TF Unapproved Minutes 29Mar2018

Spring 2018 Ester Liquid 29Mar2018

This page is maintained by: webmaster

Last update: 03-Apr-2018